A many splendored thing

4 Mar

One of my favorite books (I have several hundred favorite books, so that isn’t saying that much) is Asimov’s Prelude to Foundation.  One of my favorite things in this favorite book is the sense of microcosm and macrocosm embodied in Trantor.  We zoom in and out of our view of the universe, as with a camera lens, and in the end the magnification makes no difference.  To lean in close … closer … closer … and realize the view is the same as when we lean back … back … back … there’s something comforting there.

Or maybe I just like moss.

I think I Hear a Who.

This bud soon to blossom is surely as complicated as the Ching Dynasty.

Those bright stamens may be the key to intergalactic space flight.  It could happen.

If I understood this flower, I’d understand everything.*

Hellebore, which my neighbor describes as ‘promiscuous’.  How beautiful is that?  A promiscuous flower, right here in my garden.

This bloom is so friendly it’s engaging in inter-kingdom companionship.

A bit predictable, these daffodils, and I’m thankful for it.  “And then my heart with pleasure fills,/ And dances with the daffodils.”

Enjoy something small today.  It’s pretty big, after all.

*
Flower in the crannied wall,
I pluck you out of the crannies;—
Hold you here, root and all, in my hand,
Little flower—but if I could understand
What you are, root and all, and all in all,
I should know what God and man is.
-Alfred, Lord Tennyson

13 Responses to “A many splendored thing”

  1. Jenny March 4, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    What beautiful photographs!

  2. Selena March 4, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Such beautiful photos!! Thanks for sharing.

    • Monique March 4, 2012 at 10:37 am #

      Thanks for commenting, glad you enjoy them!

  3. unncle Jack March 4, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Lovely! Opening this blog is a wonderful way to start the day. Thanks!

  4. satnavandcider March 4, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    Absolute eye candy. Thanks for the calorie-free indulgence. 😉 I loved Asimov’s Foundation series when I read it many years ago. Those books helped open my mind as a youth.

    • Monique March 4, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Thanks! Working on my 100th post next — that one will NOT be calorie free =)

  5. Ruth March 4, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    Beautiful!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Big things, small things « Crumpets in Camelot - July 22, 2012

    […] do like size contrasts.  Things that are big and small.  I really can’t explain […]

  2. Next generation | Crumpets in Camelot - September 3, 2013

    […] the hardest thing out there).  She’s taken some lovely photos, from great heights to tiny closeups.  I’ve even taken her trail running.  And you can […]

  3. And now for something completely different | Crumpets in Camelot - November 26, 2013

    […] feel like a home away from home.  And you know what I do when I like something.  I get in really close.  Closer.  Now look upside down at what you usually look at straight on.  And … take a […]

Leave a comment