Next generation

3 Sep

My little pink elph has been with me all through our life in the UK thus far.  She fits in a backpack, a purse, a pocket, or hangs easily off the wrist.  I’ve dropped her in puddles, down stairs, off tables, and on my own head (surely the hardest thing out there).  She’s taken some lovely photos, from great heights to tiny closeups.  I’ve even taken her trail running.  And you can tell:

IMG_0004

Nicks, chips, dents, the frame is actually popped out on the sides, the shutter button fell off some time ago and the photo quality, sadly, is starting to go.  She could always do more than I understood, but she had a great run.  Now, it is time for a new companion on my travels.

20130828_133230My cat is super excited, you can tell.

I’m not sure how this fancy thing works.  Point. Click.  Hope for the best.  Meet the next generation.  I know it looks black, but I like to think her heart is pink.

4 Responses to “Next generation”

  1. aubreyepp September 4, 2013 at 9:07 am #

    She’s so BIG. Is lugging that thing around part of your workout routine?? 😉

    • Monique September 6, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      Ha. It isn’t really *that* big. The body itself is about the same — it’s that honkin’ lens that will keep me from sticking it in a back pocket. Let’s see if I learn how to use it!

  2. Christy Hornsby Newman September 9, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    Your new camera is pretty automatic still like the old one but may get nicer shots for you. I have a huge Canon Mark 2 5D and I use my phone a lot because I don’t want to lug around the monster unless I am out to take photos. I like having it for when I want some nice pics but I probably take more pics with my iphone. Plus I need to take a class to learn how to do everything the monster can do.

    • Monique September 9, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

      I know, the phone camera is so tempting … but I do find I pay more attention to light and composition etc when I use a proper camera. I should take a class. All the manual options intimidate me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

