Paradise Lost and Found

27 May

IMG_0276ed

My laptop likes to remind me of Camelot. My screensaver pulls images green and mild (and dark and stormy, and fun and frivolous, and sweet and savory) to flaunt on the small screen that might as well be the illuminated dome of my brain. Any time I go quiet for more than five minutes, there it is: Camelot.

It has been eight months since we left the UK. Six months since we settled in Hawaii. The contrast is shocking. There are no more days of darkness.  No matter how I miss places, people, castles, or crumpets, I can not miss that darkness.  And for all I dream sadly of my lost English roses, every day I wake to plumeria and hibiscus.

Hawaii isn’t perfect.  It isn’t paradise.  No one likes to believe this.  No one likes to hear that the dream holiday destination has an underbelly of unbelievable poverty, corruption, waste, and unsustainability.  And yet …

… Hawaii is that boy with the dazzling daydream blue eyes and tousled hair who smiles at you and short circuits your brain.

What was I saying?  Something about Hawaii being paradise, right?

I still listen to BBC radio.  I still make a proper brew.  I will even, sometimes, still have beans on toast for my tea.  But I’m doing it in my bathing suit and I’ll be heading to the beach in a few minutes.  I’m not blogging as I was in Camelot.  There is so much less to say here, and it seems unimportant when the trade winds are blowing and I can get free parking two steps from my favorite stretch of sand.  But I do toss up occasional photos at bluemoonhawaii.wordpress.com, and I’d be happy to see you there.

5 Responses to “Paradise Lost and Found”

  1. Zazamataz May 30, 2015 at 9:03 pm #

    How nice to hear you’re still alive! I live in a resort area, too, although not as lovely as Hawaii. And down the road a piece are homes with dirt floors and no running water. No one wants to see the poverty around them but I think it’s probably everywhere.

    And yes, I imagine the weather is a step or two up from the UK. If I recall correctly, you get a short rain shower most afternoons that no one pays any attention to. A poko poko?

    • Monique May 30, 2015 at 11:52 pm #

      Now be patient with me, my knowledge of Hawaiian is very poor. I think ‘poko’ is short, opposed to ‘loa’ which is long? At any rate, yes, there is a bit of rain most days but it’s amazing to see the different weather on different sides of the island. Leeward is hotter and drier, windward is rainier, and central (along the mountains) is much cooler. Nice to see you!!

  2. thebookgator June 1, 2015 at 6:42 am #

    Lovely.

    • thebookgator June 1, 2015 at 6:43 am #

      Is there some kind of moral here about misery and creativity?

      • Monique June 1, 2015 at 10:14 pm #

        Ha, a clever thought. Much too sunny out to think about it very hard, though … 😉

Leave a Reply

