Banana blueberry coconut almond muffins, paleo style. Yeah, that’s catchy

20 Jul

It’s been a while since I posted a recipe, hasn’t it?  I don’t bake as much as I used to, or when I do, I remake tried and true favorites like my pumpkin muffins.  I’ve been happy with some of my gluten-free experiments (like these pancakes), but not so happy with most of my muffins. But I tried something new today, and frankly, I mostly made it up myself, so I’m a wee bit proud of how they came out.  Want to see?

IMG_20140720_105855ed

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 medium ripe bananas
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 3 Tbsp coconut milk
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1/4 cup millet flour (to be perfectly paleo, use 1/2 cup coconut flour)
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 cup linseeds and sesame seeds mixed with cinnamon (optional topping)

Mash bananas and egg. Mix until relatively smooth. Add vanilla, maple syrup, and coconut milk.

In separate bowl, mix all dry ingredients. Make a well in the middle, and stir in wet ingredients. Add blueberries last, and fold in gently.

Fill greased muffin tins about half-way.  If using topping, sprinkle over tops of muffins now.

Bake center over for 25-30 minutes at 350F. Cool muffins on rack. If any are left after you test one … and then another … maybe test one more … store airtight on counter or freeze.

IMG_20140720_105943ed

They don’t get a huge rise, but they have a soft, moist, tender texture, and hold together well.  My favorite muffins ever have been Moosewood Muffins, which I have made faithfully for years, but which have the disadvantage of being gloriously full of gluten and sugar.  I think I may have finally found an alternative, with these yummy treats!

Leave a Reply

