2013 in review

1 Jan

Here’s a quick review of 2013 — and let’s be honest, this post is mostly here so you won’t think I’ve died and stopped blogging.  (In contrast to dying and continuing to blog, also a possibility.)

The 2013 most-viewed-in-a-day post was this photo-tour of my crossfit box (which was also one of the top posts for 2013).

The most popular post from 2013 overall was a recipe for oat flour pancakes.  You pinterest-y people seem to have found it, and have been pinning it here and there.  Thanks!

The post which generated the most discussion this year was my farewell to my mother, who died in April.  Thank you, dear readers, for making the time to speak to me on that day.

I was not as prolific in 2013 as I had been in 2012.  Three posts I enjoyed writing, which I think sum up where I’ve been this year, are In majesty of mudWorth waking up, and On the right foot.  Of my various day out posts, Croome Court might be my favorite post result, although The Rollright Stones and Pi=yum sums up a day I could repeat over and over with perfect contentment.  (I did visit the stones four times this year!) When the sun shines, Witley Court, and Cotswold Drive are three posts I’ve returned to during these dark months to remind myself that the sun really does shine in England … sometimes. The posts from France live their own separate existence, in a beautiful croissant and coffee-rich world.

This is a blog of images, of course, and I find I can’t choose my favorite image of 2014.  I’m greedy — I like them all — I wouldn’t share them if I didn’t.  So I’ll post a new photo, from a visit to Toddington railway station, the northern terminus of the Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway.  I can’t think of any one image I’ve taken which sums up “England” more perfectly than this!

IMG_1229ed

Here’s to more explorations in 2014.  Much love to y’all as you come along with me!

6 Responses to “2013 in review”

  1. Sergio Caltagirone January 1, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

    We always enjoy your posts! Keep up the writing 🙂

    • Monique January 7, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

      Will do! Thanks! 😀

  2. Nandini January 5, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

    Always great to read your writing and see your pics! Thanks for making a part of the world more real for many of us.
    Happy new year!

    • Monique January 7, 2014 at 1:25 pm #

      Happy New Year to you as well! Thanks for exploring along with me, and for commenting!

  3. thebookgator January 7, 2014 at 5:29 am #

    *hugs* I always enjoy your posts, despite passing on the oatmeal pancakes. 🙂 Hang in there, and keep posting, even if it is just pictures.
    All your talk of cross-fit has been inspiring me to try and add a dimension to my normal swim workouts. Ye gods, I was sore for three days after a mini-20 minute routine. You have my respect!

    • Monique January 7, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

      Fantastic! And nothing sounds mini about a 20 minute routine along with swimming! I will eat all the pancakes on your behalf, no worries. Glad you’re still sticking along and thanks for commenting …

Leave a Reply

