Pumpkin Smoothie

25 Oct

I had this idea that I would post regular recipes to this blog.  Eh.  Mixed results there, I’d say.  And since I’ve been eating gluten-free (mostly) and dairy-free (often), I’ve been struggling a little in the baking department.  Smoothies to the rescue.  And what could be better for fall than pumpkin?

20131015_145256e

This is not a mysterious recipe.  Most smoothies are nothing more than: “Stick in a blender.  Blend.  The end.”  But I do like to share when I find something worthwhile.  Make modifications however you like.  Here’s how I like to make what tastes like Thanksgiving pumpkin pie in a cup:

6 ice cubes
Medium banana, cut into inch circles (or thereabouts)
4 oz pumpkin puree
1 tsp maple syrup (the real stuff)
2 tbsp pea protein powder (I like my protein)
cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and clove to taste
8 oz coconut milk (the creamy kind from a can)

Put everything in the blender in the order above, then blend.  The end.

20131015_145247e

Yum.

(Like pumpkin and aren’t worried about gluten?  Try these pumpkin muffins.  Or these Moosewood muffins.)

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Smoothie”

  1. Jody October 25, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

    This sounds really yummy. Pumpkin anything is perfect for me!

    • Monique October 28, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

      I know it’s in everything this time of year … but I love it!

  2. aubreyepp October 28, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    Does this REALLY taste good, Monique?? I love COOKED pumpkin, but I’m skeptical about uncooked pumpkin…

    • Monique October 28, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

      Well, how to answer that? I REALLY love pumpkin, so I love this! The coconut milk makes the texture really creamy, but I could see a texture issue for some folks … dunno. Try it and see! 🙂

Leave a Reply

