Snapshot: Northleach

20 Oct

Much to my dismay, I have hundreds of photos of the beautiful wool church in Northleach sitting — languishing — on my laptop.  I remember Northleach as the first place I dared to adventure on my own once the kids were in school, husband was at work, and I was on my own, with a car, with the whole of England waiting for me to gather up my courage and go out exploring.  I love the Northleach parish church, and have been back several times.  Something has kept me from pulling together all my photos and ideas about this beautiful place into a post.  So for now, be content with a tiny peek.

IMG_3627e

A truly tiny peek.  To the side of the altar there is a locked wooden door.  One day I found I could not resist setting my camera into the keyhole to have a look inside.  I hope no one minds.

7 Responses to “Snapshot: Northleach”

  1. aubreyepp October 20, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Oooooh. This photo makes me shiver! Love it, Monique!

    • Monique October 20, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

      It’s one of my favorites! Thanks!

  2. Uncle Jack October 20, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    Very clever!

  3. Minnie October 29, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

    Lovely! More, please …
    Have you visited the ancient church at Deerhurst yet? Do, if not!
    And can recommend day trips galore across the Severn/Wye: Ross, Hereford, Kilpeck; Chepstow, Tintern, Monmouth (with a little detour between the latter pair to Penallt Old Church), and finally Abergavenny & the fabulous Black Mountains. But you’ve probably already discovered ’em for yourself.
    Some of them are the perfect spiritually-replenishing antidote to the entrenched unfriendliness of so many of the English ;-).
    PS Grew up in England: in the standoffish respect, nothing’s changed. But you should know that head lice were a badge of terrible shame and mark of near-criminal neglect in my day (admittedly, aeons ago). Perhaps increased population a factor (20 percent plus since I left school)?
    Bon courage, Monique!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In the bleak midwinter | Crumpets in Camelot - January 24, 2014

    […] another small snapshot from the church in Northleach.  A candle lit in the bleak midwinter for the memory of my grandmother.  Or for myself.  Or for […]

  2. The Wind Through the Keyhole | Crumpets in Camelot - March 24, 2014

    […] I love the small glances found in old churches.  It’s as if the architecture of those spaces, with their intention to […]

Leave a Reply

