Witley Court

13 Aug

And here we are in August.  I can tell it is August, because the days are getting shorter, and it feels like autumn.  Our regular trips to the pool are devolving back into more endurance event than summer fun.  And I am trawling through my photos for snippets of sunshine.  Here are some, from one of those beautiful, crystalline-perfect English spring days.  If you haven’t been, check out Witley Court and Gardens.

IMG_6647The house itself is a standing ruin, amazingly picturesque.

IMG_6584Heart throbbing fields of gold peeking through the trees this time of year.

20130601_135716Witley is known for its rhododendrons, which were something beyond incredible.

20130601_140659The fountain is worth seeing, when it runs on the hour.

IMG_6705Almost as fun as the fountain display at Versailles.  Ah, who am I kidding, nothing beats Versailles, but it was still a great show.

We spent most of a day here, seeing the fountains, the flowers, the baroque church, the newly built up adventure play area, the long walks, and having a good lunch in the nearby cafe.  In some corner of my brain I had planned one of my long chatty posts for you, but instead … just this.

20130601_142250Oh, England.  When you are good you are so good.

3 Responses to “Witley Court”

  1. aubreyepp August 13, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Love that last line. Truer words were never spoken! I caught a whiff of fall in the air yesterday (seriously, woodsmoke) and was so disappointed because didn’t summer just get started?! You’re killing me, England. You’re killing me.

    • Monique August 13, 2013 at 11:38 am #

      I always think of that nursery rhyme ” … And when she was good, She was very, very good, But when she was bad, she was horrid!” That’s England.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The heart of memory | Crumpets in Camelot - December 9, 2013

    […] where the sun shone endlessly over green fields.  I remind myself of when the sun was so bright it hurt my eyes and I could fling my arms wide and fold it into my skin.  It seems unfair that even in those […]

Leave a Reply

