Cotswold drive

11 Jul

You know it’s bad when WordPress forgets who you are and you have to strangle your brain until you remember your password and then you see you have 300 pieces of spam mail for your blog and you’re like … uggggg …  maybe I should just go back outside and enjoy the rare sunshine before it goes away for another eleven months.

But, whatever, I went out for such a lovely drive today I want to share it with you.  Share it with you NOW before I get distracted by sunshine or sorrow once again.

Here is why living in the Cotswolds is like getting a preview of paradise:

Because when you are driving down the road, this is your view to the left.

20130711_091106

And this is your view to the right.
20130711_090703

And you don’t even care that THIS is a two-lane major thoroughfare, and you are about to have to pass a large lorrie leaving a stone quarry.
IMG_7041

Because around the bend is another field, sprinkled with poppies.
IMG_7034

And if you keep going, you will find heaven in a lavender field.IMG_7002

And cream tea in a tea room.

IMG_6993edAnd you will forget all the dark days, and fill your mind with sunshine, and want to live here forever.

 

5 Responses to “Cotswold drive”

  1. Rebecca Forbes July 11, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    and now you are channeling William Blake ‘in Englands green and pleasant land’, the metaphor for ‘Heaven”!

    • Monique August 13, 2013 at 7:53 am #

      Some days I think England is both Heaven and Hell. 🙂

  2. aubreyepp August 7, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    Look at that BLUE SKY! That is proof positive that some actual summer weather REALLY DID HAPPEN this year. I was hoping that sunshine would sustain me longer, but I caught a whiff of autumn in the air yesterday and went back to my unhappy place.

    I’m making chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting today in an attempt to perk myself back up. Fingers crossed a little confectionery therapy will do the trick!

    • Monique August 13, 2013 at 7:51 am #

      Did it help? Chocolate and peanut butter sounds magical, especially on a chilly overcast day. Like in, you know, August.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The heart of memory | Crumpets in Camelot - December 9, 2013

    […] make up a pattern of life even when it all seems pointless.  I remind myself of days where the sun shone endlessly over green fields.  I remind myself of when the sun was so bright it hurt my eyes and I could fling my arms wide and […]

Leave a Reply

