At the pool. Not like Gatsby. Whatsoever.

26 May

I think it’s obvious that I’m in need of some kind of break.  Enter our local town pool:

Most amazing town pool I've ever seenIt’s the most amazing municipal pool I’ve ever seen, anyway.  Granted, I grew up going to the pool in Southeast DC.  Still.  It’s fairly gorgeous, isn’t it?

Apparently once pool season comes around, my local peers will swim.  No matter the weather.  No matter the temperature.  No matter what.  Here was the scene at a recent birthday party:

Snow nor rain

Rain?  Hail?  Doesn’t matter.  We’re at the pool, so we will swim.  I suppose the lack of thunderstorms means pools don’t need to be cleared for safety reasons during downpours.  Just keep swimming.  As one does.

4 Responses to “At the pool. Not like Gatsby. Whatsoever.”

  1. RMW May 26, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    Rain is like sunshine in England. I remember going to the beach in the pouring rain, why not a swimming pool?

    • Monique May 31, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

      Why not indeed? We’re loving the pool!

  2. aubreyepp May 28, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    And when, miracle of miracles, there is an actual warm sunny day, you and every other person in all of Cheltenham will try to fit in that pool simultaneously! It’s almost as though the borough council organized a freaking water displacement demonstration. (I don’t love crowds. I’m still a bit traumatized by our Lido experience last summer.)

    • Monique May 31, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      My not-at-all-an-expert tip is to get to the pool right when it opens, claim your space, and then fight off intruders for the rest of the day. 😉 I can’t wait for a truly warm day, and crowds, and feeling like it is truly SUMMER.

Leave a Reply

