Rollright redux

1 Feb

What a difference the sun makes.  A return trip to the Rollright Stones on a sunny windswept day shines a whole new light on these ancient configurations.  Since I’ve already written about the background to these stones, indulge me with a short photo stroll.

IMG_3823

I didn’t touch the stones — but I didn’t count them or make a wish, either.

IMG_3826

Peek a stone.

IMG_3836

The stones are like teeth.  So this is a mossy molar.  Or like one of those floating islands in Avatar.

IMG_3838

These stones appear to bow towards the sun.  I have that same feeling of gratitude for sunny days like this.

IMG_3839

The lichen was almost technicolor.

IMG_3848

A wide view found while standing closer to the Whispering Knights.  I love how the stones huddle in a dense, dark shadow of the tree line.

IMG_3851

The Whispering Knights are pricked out in sunlight and have a completely different aspect.

IMG_3854

Even the Nazgul is more approachable.

IMG_3860

I’m not sure I can say how much I am moved by this sculpture of the legendary King-to-stone-turning witch.  Even from a remove, when you first enter the field where she gestures toward the King Stone, she calls up tension, surprise, anticipation.

IMG_3867

Here she flings her curse towards the King.

IMG_3870

A witch and her shadow.  My favorite part of this image is the hazy, smoky length of hedge behind her that appears to build like a wave.

IMG_3873A King’s view.

Can I recommend this trip to the Rollright Stones any more?  Go.  Are you still here?  Go.

 

10 Responses to “Rollright redux”

  1. aubreyepp February 1, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

    I think I remember you saying they are near or en route to Croughton? We’re going to the base next weekend, and that would be a fantastic pit stop. I love stone circles!

  2. Zazzy February 1, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    Sun, glorious sun! The witch, I agree, is still pretty creepy even in the bright sunlight.

    • Monique February 2, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

      I’m just gripped by that sculpture! And I love that these stones are still part of a modern conversation about how humans shape our physical environment. (If that makes sense.)

  3. RMW February 1, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    Having lived in the Land with no Sun and in the Land of Sun, I definitely prefer the latter… too bad England cannot have the southern California climate… but maybe it would lose some of its charm…

    • Monique February 2, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

      Yes, we wouldn’t be as grateful for a cup of tea without a chill rain! I’ve been longing for sun but I wonder if would be able to handle all that warmth and glorious sunshine? I’m willing to make the experiment ….

  4. Grandfather February 2, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    Nature and time are the best sculptors.

    • Monique February 2, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

      🙂 They did a good job, here.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seventy-three | Crumpets in Camelot - June 20, 2013

    […] The day of Solstice Eve, if there is such a holiday, and I took myself to the Rollright Stones to see how my closest neighboring neolithic fairy circle had been keeping itself.  (Previous visits here and here.) […]

  2. Stones at the end of the rainbow | Crumpets in Camelot - January 7, 2014

    […] where I went already.  You know because I go there near about every solstice — summer and winter — and I just mentioned it last week, again.  And because there are rocks in my head and I […]

Leave a Reply

