It’s that time of year

20 Dec

Are you expecting a post about the holidays?  No.  It’s that time of year when I finally SNAP and FREAK THE FREAK OUT about the days of darkness and I LOSE THE WILL TO GO ON and my happy light gets drunk and quits trying and I stand outside at 3 pm when it looks the same as it did at 2 am and 7 am and noon and the same as it will look at midnight and MY BRAINS LEAK OUT MY EARS.

IMG_2817Actual photo of the actual sky.

Yes: I know it is darker elsewhere.  I do not care.  This is as dark as I ever need it to be, for as long as I ever need it to be dark, forever.

Thief of sunshine, thief of happiness.  We hates it!  We hates it forever.

12 Responses to “It’s that time of year”

  1. Sarah Scott December 20, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    ha! oh i sympathize. and this posts makes me thankful that i will be spending my postpartum days in Florida – otherwise, i’m certain i would have gone stark.raving.MAD. but, in the summertime, i will be jealous of your glorious English days…hang in there for those days. they will come again! ps: love your gollum voice. 🙂 seriously, it is too too sad that we never met. you are my cyber soulmate.

    • Monique December 21, 2012 at 12:13 am #

      I miss knowing you are just ‘down the road’ capturing every precious moment in Oxfordshire. My England is a little sadder without you in it. xo (ps feel free to send along any extra sunshine. Promise I’ll send you some clouds if you need ’em.)

  2. haitiruth December 20, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    😦 So much sympathy! Come to the tropics!

    • Monique December 21, 2012 at 12:14 am #

      My family is so tired of hearing me whine about (lack-of) sunshine. Whinge whinge whinge

  3. Zazzy December 20, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    After tomorrow, every day gets a little longer and more light. Only by a couple minutes but it’s a start. Hang in there.

    • Monique December 21, 2012 at 12:15 am #

      By the skin of my teeth. Thank you.

  4. Jody December 20, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    Interesting! I wish I could share our sunshine with you! When we moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico I just could not get used to all of the sunny days! We came here from coastal Virginia where nor’easters are common. We often didn’t have sun for weeks on end.

    • Monique December 21, 2012 at 12:17 am #

      I’ve been so surprised by how strongly the winters hit me here in the UK. And we’re fairly southerly — can’t imagine wintering in, say, the Orkney islands! Summer it’s the opposite, and I’m up at 4am with the sun.

  5. Aubrey Price Pettyjohn December 21, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Today is winter solstice, which I suppose you can look at in two ways. 1) You’ve hit rock bottom. 2) It only gets better from here. Should I bring you a bottle of wine? Right now? I can, you know.

    • Monique December 21, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      That is *exactly* how I view today: Rock bottom and it can only get better. (Assuming no apocalypse and the sun indeed rises tomorrow morning.) (ps – I had champagne earlier. It’s the only way to survive the end of the world.)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Survival | Crumpets in Camelot - November 19, 2013

    […] black days.  I followed my own advice last year, and didn’t completely lose it until about December 20th.  This year I’ve been following more of the same, although I think it’s safe to say […]

  2. And now for something completely different | Crumpets in Camelot - November 26, 2013

    […] I go most often, these days — when I can tear myself away from gibbering at the dark and making my fireplace roar — is to CrossFit.  The idea that I belong there is […]

Leave a Reply

