Guy Fawkes. Again.

12 Nov

Bonfire Night.  I wrote about it last year.  This year our school’s celebration was delayed by a week, putting us slightly off-sequence from the rest of the country.  But on a clear and chilly night, we finally had our fill of giant bonfires and rockets.

And super creepy magicians.  Okay, I apologize to what appears to be a dear sweet man who undoubtedly has a lovely family and probably rescues cats and orphans as a side hobby, but OMG he looked almost as scary as the poltergeist clown which I am still sure lives under my bed.

Let’s get that bonfire started!

Look at the size of it.  Toasty.

Love a good bonfire, even as it’s burning low.

A bit of the carnival scene while we waited for the fireworks.

And then – KaPOW.

KaBLING!  KaBLAM!

I’m daring to try something new with my camera.  These shots were all taken on the manual setting.  Mixed results.  KaBOOM.

The big finale.

I didn’t have quite as much spirit this year as last.  It was pleasant to feel comfortable in the crowd — a bit familiar.  I did sing the Star Spangled Banner to myself  (OH SAY!).  Just a little.  We tried the rides, ate candy floss, waved crazy light sticks, Oo-ed and Aa-ed at the lights.  But my heart wasn’t in it.  Maybe last year I was overfull with the excitement of moving and discovery, and this year I’m too overwhelmed by the slog through chill and darkness to find that spark inside.  Maybe next year we can just have a cozy bonfire at home with some s’mores and warm cider and one of the bizarre ditties of Guy Fawkes:

So let’s bless the Royal Majesty, and bless the Royal son, sirs,
And may he never get blown up if to the throne he comes, sirs.
And if he does, I’m sure he’ll reign–so prophesize my song, sirs;
But if he don’t, why then he won’t, and so I can’t be wrong, sirs.

KaBlammo.

6 Responses to “Guy Fawkes. Again.”

  1. Jeanne November 12, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Songs about Guy Fawkes! That strikes me as exotic, like the Pearl Harbor Day song my parents knew about 40 verses of.

    • Monique November 12, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      Guy Fawkes is the strangest holiday. I’m trying to find the Pearl Harbor Day song, now that you’ve mentioned it (40 verses?!), but I keep finding the Glen Miller Band and Faith Hill’s song for the movie soundtrack. Google is fun …

  2. Zazzy November 12, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    Gotta agree, that magician looks quite creepy. Makes me think of various creepy tv shows with creepy clowns – or Stephen King. Now I’ve got a sudden urge to re-read It.

    • Monique November 12, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      I do feel badly that he struck me as so terrifying — at least in this photo. I was thanking my stars that there *wasn’t* a clown, because I don’t think I could have stuck around until the fireworks with a clown in the crowd! 😉

  3. Sarah November 14, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    I’m getting a bit emotional about leaving, but at this, my last GFD (for now), I was trying to decide if I liked my fireworks better in November or July. I think I definitely prefer July – because I get to have a big fat bbq, and stretch out on a blanket with a cold beer vs. needing hand warmers in my pocket. But I will absolutely miss the giant bonfires that cause no one concern, and the 6pm start time! HA! I like the idea of having a home bonfire with GF songs (with smores and cider?? Honestly, do you want three roommates until you move back?? We’ll stay, I swear it we will – with you – say the word!). I suppose that would be a perfect way to keep some of the UK traditions and holidays alive and well with us even Stateside. Thanks for the idea!

    I found this: http://my.execpc.com/~dschaaf/songnew.html and check the link at the bottom. There’s no 40 verses, but maybe these are the songs Jeanne is talking about?

    • Monique November 15, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      Bonfires are awesome, but 4th of July rocks and I miss it forever. I would be totally cool with bonfires in the backyard to celebrate GFD (love the acro) back stateside, as long as I get my summer family fireworks back. You going to push your dh out of the country and stay in my sun room for a bit? No problem. 😀

Leave a Reply

