Always be prepared

23 Sep

Ah, yes, the days of darkness.  They’ve grown in terror in my memory, so I almost start to whimper and whine when I let my mind imagine the winter months here in England.  I was woefully unprepared for the lack of sunlight here in the garden of England, and confounded by my very real inability to cope.  So, meet my new best friend:

This is not a product endorsement.  In fact, if it doesn’t help, it may be a product indictment.

I’ve also been on the receiving end of some very good suggestions for handling the winter blahs.  Like:

  • wear warm clothing that keeps you dry and lets you get out in all kinds of weather;
  • have a stash of warm, comforting drinks that make you feel glow-y inside;
  • light the fire and enjoy the bright snapping flames;
  • always wear warm wools socks;
  • take your vitamin d!;
  • eat flavorful soups with strong sweet and sour flavors;
  • hang out with people who make you laugh (instead of people like me, who cry about the darkness all the time);
  • keep active, at the gym or outside;
  • read books that grab you and take you away to immersive and engaging worlds full of interesting characters;
  • and book a sunny vacation in the middle of the winter.

I’m not sure that last one is going to be an option, but I know I can handle all the rest.  How about you — how do you handle the winter dark days?

10 Responses to “Always be prepared”

  1. satnavandcider September 23, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    My plan was Pimm’s and lemonade, but I’ve been told it’s as unfashionable to drink Pimm’s and lemonade after the “season” as it is to wear white after Labor Day. 😦 Bring on the Pimm’s Winter? Just kidding (sort of). How about exploring exciting indoor locales?

    • Monique September 23, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

      Heaven forbid I have an unseasonable drink — lol how ridiculous. Although I do prefer a warm cup of something rather than something icy, in the winter. Getting out of the house and keeping a spirit of adventure sounds like a good strategy. 🙂

  2. Zazzy September 23, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    This is one of those very good pieces of advice which I find very hard to follow – but it’s true. If you can, try to adjust your expectations. Anticipation is often worse than what actually happens and there is that old self-fulfilling-prophecy thing. Light therapy really does help for some people and getting outside when there is natural light is a very good thing. I’d stay away from alcoholic beverages as they are a depressant. And I put pictures of bright sunny beaches on my computer wallpaper and take imaginary vacations.

    • Monique September 25, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      I don’t disagree about adopting a positive attitude, yet it’s hard to think ‘if only I had a better attitude, I’d feel better.’ Fake it until you make it, I guess — ha.

  3. Lisa September 24, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    Why don’t you create a warm Pimms like mulled wine etc… ;0) I just literally ordered hot chocolate (3for2) on the Whittards website! Caramel and creme brûlée bet they taste the same…. Anyway and then a dark chocolate to bake with! ;0)
    where I lived in the states it got darker then here! Once walking around on my college campus it was the first day of sun in ages and I was walking with my face tilted up to the sun like a flower and someone walking by said to me “it’s nice isn’t it” I hadn’t realized I was doing it!! Winter is coming. (yes that is a song of ice and fire reference!)

    • Monique September 25, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      Oh, Whittards! I am out of the wonderful cinnamon hot chocolate we enjoyed so much our first winter — time to restock! lol at you as a sunflower — a bit of sun after too much dark and I get giggly and sun-drunk.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Countdown « Crumpets in Camelot - December 1, 2012

    […] the best efforts of my happy light, this winter is feeling dark and dismal again.  It was perhaps an error to try to write 50,000 […]

  2. It’s that time of year « Crumpets in Camelot - December 20, 2012

    […] finally SNAP and FREAK THE FREAK OUT about the days of darkness and I LOSE THE WILL TO GO ON and my happy light gets drunk and quits trying and I stand outside at 3 pm when it looks the same as it did at 2 am […]

  3. On the right foot | Crumpets in Camelot - September 9, 2013

    […] a dim crack of sunshine around noon … I shudder.   I’ll be taking my daily dose of blue light starting next month, and gritting my teeth for […]

  4. Survival | Crumpets in Camelot - November 19, 2013

    […] spent some time last year thinking about ways to survive these black days.  I followed my own advice last year, and didn’t completely lose it until about December […]

Leave a Reply

