Day out: Hidcote

24 Jul

When England is dark and rainy it is very dark and rainy.  But as an expat friend has pointed out, when the weather in England is good it is sooooooooo good.  This weekend brought one of those glorious days, and we spent it getting high on sunshine and flowers at The National Trust’s Hidcote Manor Gardens.  I could tell you about the history of the place, the American connection, the thoughtful husbandry and elegant garden planning.  But I walked through the garden as through a flowered fantasy: sniffing, touching, delighting, bespelled.  And that’s how my photos came out as well.  Enjoy a dream dazzled walk with me:

Elements of the  gardens reminded me of the Rococo Gardens, which we visited at the end of autumn last year.  What a revelation to see the Cotswold in bloom.

(What do you think of this gallery format?  Is it annoying to click on the thumbnails to see the full image?  Does the gallery feature work for your browser?  I had so many photos today, I thought I’d try a new way to share them.  I’d like any feedback about the format.)

8 Responses to “Day out: Hidcote”

  1. Jeanne July 24, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    I like the gallery. It was a little bit of sunshine in my dark and dreary morning.

  2. competentmom July 24, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    I like the gallery too – and the pictures! Thanks for sharing them!

  3. Zazamataz July 24, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    The gallery was okay. I liked that I could click and slideshow through the photos – and beautiful photos they are! But I miss your usual stories about everything you saw.

    • Monique July 24, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      =) To be honest, I missed getting to tell a story, too. I’m still working on that balance between words and images. But I’m glad you liked the photos.

  4. Sally July 30, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I love Hidcote and your photos have reminded me why.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guess I’ve only been in England about a month, then | Crumpets in Camelot - July 3, 2013

    […] season … right?  Right?  Sigh.  I’ll just look at sunny photos of Hidcote from that one nice day last […]

Leave a Reply

