Poppy haze

18 Jun

A quick step away from the trip to the Isle of Wight, to poppies growing in a field near(ish) my house.

Not the greatest photo, in part because my posterior was hanging into traffic as I tried to keep my front from falling into a barbed wire fence, while balancing on a marshy roadside berm about a foot wide.

But for me an awesome moment.  How often in life do you answer a random knock on the door to find two fellow explorers asking: “We heard there’s a field of poppies around here somewhere, want to come find it?”  And joining in the challenge, you find this.

Poppies in a field of rapeseed, near Ullenwood, Gloucestershire.

Here’s to explorations, and to answering the knock at the door.

2 Responses to “Poppy haze”

  1. Zazzy June 19, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    And the people at the door were people you knew – not serial killers that you just wandered off to look for poppies with? I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a real field of poppies but they make me think of the wizard of oz. No flying monkeys?

    • Monique June 21, 2012 at 11:48 am #

      Ha ha ha! That would be good to clarify — YES, these are people I know & am fortunate to know. No flying monkeys. Yet.

Leave a Reply

