Pumpkin Bread

25 Apr

I’m huddling in my sun room watching rain pour over the roof.  The fire is going.  The cats are curled nose to nose on the footstool.  The children shivered in their jackets on the way to school this morning and asked me if there was a hurricane warning today.  The other mums at school all rolled their eyes and reminded me this was typical English weather.  I’m once again missing home, and dreaming of sunny days on the Bay or ‘down the shore’.  Insert deep sigh here.

Best thing for this weather is to bake something warm, so here’s a quick and easy pumpkin bread recipe.  This version keeps well and while it’s good warm from the oven it’s even better the next day.

First combine your dry ingredients:
3 1/2 c flour
2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
Cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger to taste (half to a whole teaspoon each is good)

In a separate bowl, combine your wet ingredients:
15 oz pumpkin puree
2/3 cup water
1 cup oil
4 eggs
1 1/2 cup sugar  (most recipes call for more sugar than this: I like to use less.  If you want sweeter bread, add another cup of sugar)

Combine the two: make a well in your dry ingredients, pour in the wet, and then stir together.

I like to laugh gleefully at this point.  Like a mad scientist or an evil genius.  No reason, it’s just fun.  MWA-HA-HA-HAAAAAAAAAA! Mix, pumpkin, MIX!!!

Laugh at the mess you made, because it is delicious.  BWA-HA-HAAA!

You could make two full-sized loaves with this recipe, but I made one full-size and two smaller.  I separated the batter into three sections, leaving the largest loaf alone for a simple pumpkin bread.  To the second I added 3/4 cups of dried fruits.  To the third I added the dried fruits, and 1/2 cup of pecans.  Fill your loaf pans about 2/3rd full and bake at 350F for 50-60 minutes, then put on a rack to cool.

And then …

In a true spirit of British-American co-operation, I’m having mine with some clotted cream.

(Take that, horrible weather.  Pumpkin will defeat you.)

6 Responses to “Pumpkin Bread”

  1. Sarah April 25, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    Did you seriously post a recipe for pumpkin bread and leave me in the cold on the scones? That’s it. I’m coming down there. 😉

    • Monique April 25, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

      I could seriously dedicate this blog entirely to pumpkin recipes. I’ll get around to scones soon, pinky promise.

  2. Zazzy April 25, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    Yeah, my mom’s recipe has 3 cups of sugar – it’s definitely a sweet bread. I’m curious to make this recipe. Pumpkin can definitely be savory and a less sweet product, like the Pumpkin Scone recipe an Australian friend shared with me. It really looks delicious!

    • Monique April 25, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      Yeah, most seem to be one-to-one flour to sugar, but that’s too sweet for my taste. I’m going to try that scone recipe, thanks!!

  3. Tesni April 25, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    I’ve never had pumpkin bread, but it looks delicious!!!

    • Monique May 1, 2012 at 6:58 am #

      It is! Pumpkin doesn’t seem to be big in GB?

Leave a Reply

