In the mirror darkly

23 Mar

So, someone asked me recently why I don’t take a lot of (read: any) photos of myself.  The world is just so interesting, you guys, and I already know what I look like.  Sure, when my kids look back at photos from their youth they’ll think they were raised by a floating camera, but I’m okay with that.  The way I figure it, I’m in the photo by virtue of authorship.  It’s easy enough to see me when you see the things I like to see.  Anyway, you’ve already seen me when I met the Queen, what more do you want?

Well, but … Sarah over at The Salad Days is running a fun self-portrait thingy.  (Yes, that is the technical term.)  And I happen to have just taken a self-portrait I sort of like.  So, I’m giving it a go.  You can join in, too, whether you have a blog or not — just follow her directions.  (I think she’s one of those organized people, who figure things out and know what they are doing and stuff.)

Me and my camera — the author of all the photos you see on this blog — a basic older-model Canon PowerShot Digital ELPH.  Hot pink, of course.  We’re in the Cirencester Parish Church of St John Baptist, looking up at a chandelier looking down at us.

So, what are you looking at today?  And who is looking at you?

15 Responses to “In the mirror darkly”

  1. lizzybradbury March 23, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Excellent self-portraiting going on here, (another technical term). You have definitely challenged me to take more photos and only display photos on my blog which I have taken….*sigh*….I have been convinced…..

    • Monique March 23, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

      You *have*?! I am in awe at my own persuasive powers. But never change your profile photo, I love that damn horse.

  2. EmmaK March 23, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Love your self portrait. I am the opposite I am always taking pics of myself and my kids think I am a raving narcissist so I decided to give it up because it was getting a bit sad!

    • Monique March 23, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      Uh, Emma, did you post a comment so that I would be sucked in to your hilarious blog and be late making dinner for the kids? Because *you did that*.

  3. Living Life as an Expat Parent March 23, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    I nominated you for a BritMums Brilliance in Blogging award a few weeks ago and I’m really pleased that you’ve made the shortlist. I didn’t know if you were aware, so just wanted to bring it to your attention. You really deserve it. I love your writing and you certainly show real get-up-and-go-ness. 🙂 Congrats! http://www.britmumsblog.com/announcing-the-bibs-shortlist/

    • Monique March 23, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

      That was YOU?! ❤ ❤ ❤ !!! And you're up for a "fresh voice" — AWESOME!

      • Living Life as an Expat Parent March 23, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

        My guess is that a few others may have nominated you too, but I just wanted to make sure you’d seen that you were shortlisted. Hope people will come check out what you have to say and vote for you! 🙂

  4. greatscott3 March 23, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    Oh you are so, SO sweet to mention the blog AND to participate. BUT – my stupid photo hosting site went down. I had to start it over and am hoping you will come back by and post your photo again. I just LOVE it!! xoxo

    • Monique March 23, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Running over to do it right now! =)

  5. Zazzy March 23, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    That is a very interesting self portrait! I like the idea 🙂

  6. greatscott3 March 23, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    Oh, I love this photo. And love that your kids might see that they NOT in fact raised by a floating camera. And I love that I give off the appearance of being organized. 🙂 Looking forward to what you come up with next week with that sweet, hot pink camera of yours. And someday, I VOW, my self portrait will be of me with YOU! Crumpet meets Salad will happen…

    • Monique March 24, 2012 at 9:31 am #

      =) That’s a lot of love! I love that you are challenging us camera-shy folks to embrace something new. I’m not sure I can handle a weekly self-portrait, but I def plan to make it part of the monthly plan. hee hee

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day out: Blenheim photo journey « Crumpets in Camelot - August 27, 2012

    […] get all arty-photography and stuff.  Something technical like that.  It was a bit absurd to run my pink Elph alongside  my companions with their big-gun DSLRs with multiple lenses and casual use of terms […]

  2. Next generation | Crumpets in Camelot - September 3, 2013

    […] little pink elph has been with me all through our life in the UK thus far.  She fits in a backpack, a purse, a […]

  3. And now for something completely different | Crumpets in Camelot - November 26, 2013

    […] rest of you know me.  At least a bit.  You know I spend my time crumpeting around, falling into fantasy land, […]

Leave a Reply

