Pumpkin streusel

17 Mar

I’m not ashamed to use a baking mix every now and then. Some mixes have special connections for me. Anything from King Arthur Flour reminds me of several happy years in New Hampshire, just over the river from the KAF bakery in Vermont. I think of Green Mountain Coffee; brilliant fall colors; ice storms; library stacks; bell towers; bonfires; early life as a married couple; maybe a bit of growing up. As we’ve moved around, I’ve continued to order from their drool-worthy catalogue, and I have a small (shrinking) stash here in the UK. I can’t help it: food is about love, and memory.

Which leads me to:

Pumpkin streusel.

Eggs, butter, sour cream, water, and pumpkin assembled, I got to work:

Look at the beautiful yellow yolk on that egg — eggs are superior here, no question in my mind.

I don’t have a proper bundt pan — SHOCKING — and picked up a savarin pan instead. I was a little worried as I layered in the batter and streusel.

It looked good coming out of the oven, but I was sure it would shred when I tried to release it from the pan.

Instead, I pulled out a perfect, giant, doughnut!

See yesterday’s post for a sense of scale.

Some homemade icing (confectioners sugar, butter, milk, cinnamon) and she’s all dressed up:

Like most KAF mixes, you’re still supplying most of the ingredients– to some extent, you’re really buying a recipe. I’ll sometimes try a new item using a KAF mix (like the first time I made biscotti, years ago), and then next time do the whole thing from scratch.

Anyway, I think it came out pretty well, and it’s worth doing again to make it better. Let’s take another look. (And yes, the comport is another Emma Bridgewater piece, a find from a day out to Stoke-on-Trent that I haven’t written about, yet.)

Mmmmm.

8 Responses to “Pumpkin streusel”

  1. Zazzy March 17, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    It looks delicious, but it needs some chopped nuts on top to complete that doughnut look. 🙂

  2. Ruth March 17, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Bundt pan, savarin pan…it’s all Greek to me. But the cake looks scrumptious. My husband, the cook-type-person in our family, like to order from that catalogue too.

    • Monique March 17, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

      If it’s greek I think it’d be a Yiaourtopita! Deliciousness around the world. KAF is awesome, it’s fun to hear their flour is being baked up in Haiti, too.

  3. Selena March 19, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    I must have that cake stand!! I love it and the cake looks lovely. Thanks for sharing!!

    • Monique March 21, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      And thank you for commenting! I love that pattern. 🙂

  4. Sarah March 21, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    You are lucky it is 9:23pm, I am on day 7 of a juice fast, and this is probably fully consumed by now, otherwise….. “EXCUSE ME, DOES ANYONE KNOW MONIQUE?” 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bolognese, Garlic Farm Style « Crumpets in Camelot - July 3, 2012

    […] usually try to share photos of food other than cakes and cupcakes.  I take a photo of a cake and it looks yummy and delicious and I want a pillow made of muffin to place on my bed made of cake […]

Leave a Reply

