Oh, Sugar-Honey-Iced-Tea

8 Mar

I filled up my mini-van’s tank the other day.  Usually I cut the pump off at a set amount.  That day, I filled it up.  The pump handle went ‘click’ and I looked up to see …

I very nearly wet myself.  It is quite possible that I began mewling in despair.  When I went inside to pay, I whispered to the attendant: “Don’t say the numbers out loud.”  He didn’t even look at me like I was weird.  He seemed to understand.

If conversion is not your strong suit: 68.5 liters is about 18 gallons.  103 British pounds is about 162 US dollars.  I just paid NINE DOLLARS A GALLON FOR GAS.

Mewl.  Mewl.  Mewl.

9 Responses to “Oh, Sugar-Honey-Iced-Tea”

  1. Sarah March 8, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    That’s a really nice picture. 🙂

    • Monique March 8, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      Hahahahahaha! For Halloween!!

  2. Ruth March 8, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    WOW. That’s even worse than what we pay here.

  3. Diana March 8, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    I hope that fill-up lasts you a very, very long time. And I won’t feel bad the next time I fill up (which will be in New Jersey, the state with the cheap gas and good shopping).

    • Monique March 8, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

      Yes, I can fuss with the best about the cost of gas in the states, but this puts it in to perspective!

  4. Tesni March 8, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    I feel your pain! My little car only takes about £45 to fill up completely but on a student budget it still makes my eyes water.
    £103 is horrendous. I hope it lasts a good while!!!

    Really not looking forward to the 3p rise in fuel duty in April. I hope that government don’t do it. The price of petrol is already 60% tax! Its terrible for people who rely on driving for a living- like haulage companies, taxis etc, can force them out of business.

    • Monique March 8, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      It’s truly a cultural difference that I find fascinating. There’s a totally different attitude about cars and driving here. And, yes, eye-watering is the right word …

  5. Zazzy March 8, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    Oh my. Perhaps you should fill it up when it’s only 1/4 down to make you think you’re not paying so much? Wow. I think $3.50 is a lot.

    • Monique March 8, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

      Yes, I like that plan. I usually cap myself at 20 pounds, but a fill-er-up was quite the experience. Go-go public transportation!

Leave a Reply

