Just like Phineas and Ferb

21 Feb

We went to London and went up the London Eye.  Just like Phineas and Ferb.  The kids mentioned this to me repeatedly, all the while looking around expectantly for a giant waterslide to appear.  I suspect most of their expectations for London, and England as a whole, have been established by Phineas and Ferb.

It’s pretty close, really.

The Eye is very very big.

We visited on Valentine’s Day, and were reassured to see that the Eye is anchored by love.  If you visit on some other day, I guess it’s anchored by physics and stuff.  But Feb 14th?  Love.

Entry to the pods is a bit hairy if you have any kind of motion sickness … you get to dash on while the pod is moving.

It’s cool.

It’s awesome.

It’s very very high.

There’s a “4D Experience” you can see before you get on the Eye.  Although husband was not impressed by what is essentially a long commercial for the ride you have already bought a ticket to enter, the kids and I thought it was great.  There were bubbles, snowflakes, fog, rain, fireworks, dragons, dancing ladies, and lots of kablammo kapow.  I left thinking that from now on, all business power point presentations should be done in the style of the London Eye 4D Experience.

If I had a stupidly huge amount of money to waste, I would totally go back and take one of the speciality trips.  Champagne Afternoon Tea at over 400 feet for 20, anyone?  Only 1300 pounds.

Lots of photos of the Eye here, and here, and here.

6 Responses to “Just like Phineas and Ferb”

  1. Zazzy February 21, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Whenever I’ve seen that Eye thing in photos or movies, I thought it was some kind of ferris wheel. It looks like it would be quite the adventure to ride – though I tend to get pretty freaked out in glass elevators so perhaps I’m not the ideal patron.

    • Monique February 21, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

      I get a bit freaked out in ferris wheels or sky gondolas etc — this was not like that at all. The whole thing is enclosed, the floor is solid, and the movement is slow, steady and smooth — no rocking. The capsules are sizeable and there’s room to sit, stand, or walk around inside. The freakiest part was getting on while it was moving. Very cool experience.

  2. Cris R February 21, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Hi! I work for House Hunters International and since you’re an unabashed fan and we’re planning on coming to the UK soon I wanted to drop a line and say hello. If you get a chance please send me a note. Thanks!

  3. Carla February 23, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    So fun! We didn’t do the Eye when we were in London (I forget why, but I have a problem with heights and motion sickness, so I didn’t complain).
    I really love that last photo!

    • Monique February 23, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

      Thanks Carla! I like the whole alien-pod-hovering-over-London thing. It was probably the most touristy day I’ve ever had anywhere but it was awesomely awesome anyway.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. London postcard | Crumpets in Camelot - March 18, 2014

    […] weekend visit to London and saw some sights.  We haven’t been to London with the kids since February two years ago, when we went up the London Eye and on a Duck Tour.  This year, we got some sunshine, which […]

Leave a Reply

