Short and sweet

19 Feb

You know when you do something that you really enjoy, and you sort of think you do pretty well for an amateur, and then you realize you know many people who do it way better?  That’s how I’ve been feeling about baking lately.   And photos of baking.  I blame the internet.  And blogging.  And … people.  And … the universe.

But, succumbing to child-led begging, we did make some cupcakes this weekend, using our old standby recipe (which also works just fine when modified).

The big version.

The small version.

The M&Ms give a nice size comparison.  I think I’ll measure all sorts of things in M&M Units — MMUs — from now on.

11 Responses to “Short and sweet”

  1. Selena February 19, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    Those look so good!!!

    • Monique February 20, 2012 at 10:29 am #

      Thanks Selena! I think making cupcakes helps the kids feel at home — or maybe we just like cupcakes. 😉 The ‘fairy cakes’ here taste a bit different than our home-made version.

  2. greatscott3 February 21, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Yes, I know EXACTLY what you mean about those tender shoots of pride getting totally trampled on by all those towering oaks out there. What jerks? Don’t they know that WE totally rock? Well, you do anyway. And those cupcakes look delish…are you sure you don’t want to move to Iffley and be my neighbor? I promise to tell you daily that you are the best baker and food photographer EVER – if you pay me in sweets from your kitchen. 🙂

    • Monique February 21, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      No YOU rock! =) People keep saying they want me to live near them and feed them goodies, but I think y’all would get sick of it soon enough. Although my kids did eat 12 pancakes each for Pancake Tuesday today, and I *felt* like I was operating a short order diner.

  3. NJ February 23, 2012 at 6:56 am #

    Will try those out! Wondering if you know what Yorkshire pudding is? And how easy or hard to make?

    • Monique February 23, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

      I do indeed! And they are super easy. Jamie Oliver is my go-to for english recipes, but for an american popover version: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/popovers-recipe

      • NJ February 26, 2012 at 6:10 am #

        That’s it? I thought it would be strangely different and magical! 🙂

      • Monique February 27, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

        That’s it! But when you taste it, you may think it is magical, all the same. 😉

  4. Lisa February 24, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    These look delicious!! If you ever want to guest post on my blog I would love to have you!! :0) I am also writing to say that I’ve nominated you for a blog award!! Check out my post for the details!!
    http://www.unitedcakedom.com/2012/02/liebster-blog-award.html

    • Monique February 25, 2012 at 6:42 am #

      Lisa! You have filled me with many many MMUs of happiness! Thank you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Big things, small things « Crumpets in Camelot - July 22, 2012

    […] do like size contrasts.  Things that are big and small.  I really can’t explain […]

Leave a Reply

