Where am I?

3 Feb

A quick dash out to the grocery to pick up some sour cream, and of course I end up wandering the aisles staring at everything. (Chicken and thyme flavored crisps — really?)  I found three states and a city:

[food]

I’m just missing some “Washington DC Cheesy Balls” to make the names of home complete.  However am I going to adjust if USA keeps turning itself into delicious foodstuffs and throwing itself at me?

And then I saw this in the novelties aisle:

What?  I leave the country for a few months and My Little Ponies turn in to mer-horses?  Are they seahorses?  Hippos?  Kelpies?  What??

I also learned this week that my sat nav is probably trying to kill me.  She has ignored perfectly accessible A-roads and guided me through Slad twice so far, which is twice more than I ever ever ever ever need to drive through Slad in my life.  Yes, yes, famous author/poet Laurie Lee, yes, yes, blah blah history, yadda yadda picturesque, so what if there is a great country pub,  what I am trying to tell you is that the road through Slad is very very steep, and very very twisty, and very very narrow, and people park IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD and if have to drive in to Stroud through Slad one more time I WILL VEER OFF A CLIFF AND DIE.

So that’s where I am on this Friday at the end of the week.  Confused about My Little Kelpies, suspicious of my sat nav, and soothing myself with bagels.  I think I’ll go have another.

10 Responses to “Where am I?”

  1. Jeanne February 3, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    My Little Kelpie is an image–and a phrase–that will stay with me.

  2. Nicole February 3, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    The Big Maryland is cracking me up! And I,for one, just feel better knowing you still have access to NYC bagels 🙂

    • Monique February 3, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

      Me, too! Life without (good) bagels? Pffffft.

  3. Andrea February 3, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Oh, the Maryland cookies …. Yum, love those, but only the big ones :). Hmm, haven’t been to Stroud through Slad, sounds exciting! Parking in the middle of the road … Ugh! What is with that! They don’t even try to pull over or up in the ginormous pathways. Bard always marvels at how people can park like that and then go inside and relax while people swerve around their cars … the mysteries we must ponder!

    • Monique February 4, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      Oh, you’re missing some excitement if you’ve never driven through Slad. I’d like to go back — but only ON FOOT.

  4. Sarah February 3, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    Oh, I hate it when I’m late to the party! We just had the chicken and thyme chips with dinner last night! lol! We haven’t had the Maryland cookies yet (I don’t think, but now that you mention them, maybe I’ll get some – HA!). And those bagels are a staple in my youngin’s lunchbox. Mr. Picky Eater has no idea what he’s missing. But he’s not missing NY style bagels, that’s for sure! I told you this place was awesome, didn’t I? 🙂

    • Monique February 4, 2012 at 10:57 am #

      I see a post in my future: an analysis of various interestingly-flavored crisps (aka a chip party). I admit I like prawn crisps.

      • Zazzy February 4, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

        A friend from Australia introduced me to chicken crisps. I love them! I don’t see why we don’t have them here. You can get steak flavored chips or chicken crackers – why not chicken chips?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tintern Abbey « Crumpets in Camelot - February 13, 2012

    […] along and we hare off for Wales and Tintern Abbey.  My sat nav proves once again she’s trying to kill me, but an eight mile detour through one track hedge-rowed lanes does not deter us, and soon enough we […]

Leave a Reply

