M&M&M&mmmmmm cookies

27 Jan

I made these cookies several days ago, using a slightly-modified recipe from JoyofBaking.com.  All modifications were made from sheer laziness.  I used ‘self-rising’ flour and added the candies right in to the batter; then simply rolled the dough into balls and dropped on the sheets instead of the whole flattening-out bit.  So they look different, but the taste … well, there weren’t any left by the end of the day.  Also, my scoops were smaller, and I got slightly over 2 dozen cookies from this recipe, not just 15.

2 C self-rising flour
1/4 t salt
3/4 C unsalted butter
2/3 C sugar
2/3 C brown sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
1 t vanilla extract
1 C m&m candies

Start with the ingredients!

Hmm?  Yes, I am showing off my new Emma Bridgewater Diamond Jubilee tea towel.

The dough will be very dough-y.  Like playdough.  Very easy to pinch off into balls.

Line them all up and bake in a 350F oven for about 15 minutes.

And then show off your new tea towel again as they cool.  Delicious.

9 Responses to “M&M&M&mmmmmm cookies”

  1. Sarah January 27, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    This makes me hungry. Most of your posts make me hungry, even if they aren’t about food, because I can imagine what you are baking or cooking and then I’m hungry. And I want to see your face again, because I remember you and I remember you being one of the sweetest persons I ever met, and then I remember the food again. And then I’m hungry. Always hungry here. Feed me, Monique.

    • Monique January 27, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

      LOL. I’m not that sweet, except for all the baking sugar. Meet you in a misty Avebury with cookies and coffee?

      • Sarah January 29, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

        You bring the cookies, and there’s a lovely little shop with hot chocolate, tea, and scones with clotted cream and jam, of course. 😉

  2. Sarah January 27, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    P.S. When you are blog famous and get invited to BlogHer, can I invite myself along? I’ll pay my own way. HELL, I’ll pay YOUR way! 🙂

    • Monique January 27, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      You are so crazy, and always make me smile! You write your ‘notes from christmas’ — I’m sure you’ll have a better title — and *I’ll* carry *your* bags on your book tour!

  3. Baker on the Rise January 27, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    A good little cookie is always a good thing. My kids would enjoy these.

    • Monique January 27, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      Hi and thanks for coming by! These are kids-magnets, and easy for kids to help make, too. Bonus!

  4. Zazzy January 28, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    Mmmmm cookies. I love cookies. I baked more often when I worked in an office and could take the majority of whatever I made and inflict them on other people’s waistlines. These look great!

    • Monique January 29, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      It’s good there are five of us to spread the cookies around … two dozen/5 people doesn’t last long. How awesome to be a co-worker on the receiving end of YOUR cookies!

Leave a Reply

