Twinkle twinkle

4 Jan

Today was the kids’ first day back to school after their luxuriously long vacation.  We made it past the solstice.  Our heads exploded with happiness to have family visiting, and then our heads imploded with sadness when they left.  Santa came and went.  Stonehenge came and went.  Fiery lanterns floating over our house on New Years Even came and went.  (Is this an English thing?  It was like the floating lantern scene from Tangled, only sub-zero, dark, and in the west midlands. Oh, and I was afraid my house would catch fire.)

And now we’re back in the grind.  Work, school, homework, groceries, cleaning, meals, repeat.  I haven’t sorted out any weekend field trips or exciting explorations for future school breaks.  This morning there seemed to be nothing to look forward to except darkness, and more darkness, forever.  Dragging the kids out of bed was simply brutal.

But look what I noticed as I opened the kitchen windows?  The sun!  Sort of!  A little bit!  Before 8am!  It’s twinkling up there, you can feel it, sending out those rosy fingers over the wine dark countryside.

Pause the doom and gloom.  Deep breath.  One foot in front of the other and the sun will be shining before I know it.

7 Responses to “Twinkle twinkle”

  1. Jeanne January 4, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    We get up in the dark at 6:30 to get our youngest to school, and it doesn’t even begin to get light until about 7:40 these days. It’s just now fully daylight (and cloudy) at 8:15 (US Eastern time).

    • Monique January 4, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

      You have my sympathies. I’ve been enjoying the cloudy overcast sun for *hours*. =) And sunset isn’t until 4:10 — why, that’s almost three more hours of overcast diffuse lightness to enjoy! hee hee

  2. Sarah January 4, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    I didn’t actually notice the sun this morning – maybe were overcast – I’m not sure. Morning routine went well, then as soon as they left I started getting teary. What? Christmas is over? Christmas break is over? Who didn’t I make ornaments for? Who didn’t I send Christmas cards to? Oh well, update the address book with torn off mailing labels, make notes for next Christmas, and then plant my (pardon my French) ASS in front of my BEEEEEUTIFUL Christmas tree, cause that sucker is coming down over my dead body. HA! I just wrote my husband one of my “in case I die” notes this morning, too. Perhaps it needs a PS: Don’t even think about taking down my tree. I’ve decided – January 16th AT THE EARLIEST, or after a serious good snow – not sure if I will hold out for snow or not. Can you say “denial”?? (OH – I also hung up Christmas-y things that Kieran brought home from school 3 weeks ago that my husband stashed away and I just found while straightening up this morning, on January 4th.) And I’m in the process of laminating the 57 or so snowflakes we cut this year. Seriously, I don’t know why I’m telling you all this – I need help. I think I’ll go have a Monique’s Pumpkin Muffin and another cup of coffee. Happy 11th Day of Christmas! The sun IS coming, but I am resisting it believe it or not.

    • Monique January 4, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      Come on and sit your ass down right next to mine and we can have a cup of something warm and enjoy the tree lights together. Are you seriously laminating snowflakes? Do you really write ‘if I die’ notes? That makes me feel warm and happy inside, because you are a tiny bit demented, and I like that in a person. How glad I am to know you.

      • Sarah January 4, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

        Aw, and here I was about to pm you and tell you to delete that rant. ❤

        Yes, and I started transporting the laminating paper to the snowflakes because I was taking too many down and couldn't remember where they were hung. If I die, this is how you make my best oatmeal, if I die, this is how you unclog the slow shower drain, etc. Demented or morose? haha!

      • Monique January 5, 2012 at 11:12 am #

        Or GENIUS! Seriously, this is a book I would buy: “If I Die: Notes from Christmas” and then all your tips about oatmeal and drains and laminating craft projects. lolol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sol Invictus « Crumpets in Camelot - March 26, 2012

    […] Post-solstice, when the sun started to rise that small bit earlier, I rejoiced. […]

Leave a Reply

