Solstice

21 Dec

I’ve mentioned once or twice that recycling is often on my mind.  The size and number of my recycling bins is near-critical to the function of my household.  Today, we experienced a solstice miracle — our new recycling bin was dropped off!

As I watch the sun set at 3:30, I’ll be chuckling gleefully while I sort my paper, plastics, and bottles.  Happy solstice, everyone!

5 Responses to “Solstice”

  1. Ayris December 21, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Not to dim your enthusiasm here, but . . . it doesn’t look any bigger than the last one.

    • Monique December 21, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

      But now there are two … joy to the world 😉

  2. krisgal December 22, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I can’t believe you have such small recycle bins!!!! Your Council is insane to think you can fit two weeks of recycling into one of those things! We get a big wheelie bin for our recycling…… that’s just how we roll down here in Oxfordshire – It’s a privileged life. 🙂

    I’ve been counting down the days to Winter Solstice….. hallelujah! These wretched dark days of winter are too depressing for me!

    • Monique December 24, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      Oo, fancy! I think everyone in Britain has a bigger recycling bin than I do … I have bin envy.

      The extra minutes of sunlight a day are making a difference in my outlook already. =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When in doubt « Crumpets in Camelot - March 1, 2012

    […] heard about my rubbish and recycling learning curve.  How hardcore recycling can be.  The solstice miracle when the city sent us a second recycling […]

Leave a Reply

