Hello, sunshine

17 Dec

A friend shared a link to an awful, awful website which shows the amount of sun an area of the world receives each day.  Well, I thought she was a friend.  She may be evil incarnate.  Turns out my area of England will have today just 7 hours and 47 minutes (and 11 seconds — don’t forget those precious seconds).  Check it out.

For those of you who live far closer — or well beyond — Hadrian’s Wall:  I salute you.  You are heroes.  Superhuman.  Perhaps vampires.

I have been looking at the  approaching solstice with a kind of staring-at-a-car-crash sort of dread.  You know there’s nothing you can do but watch and hold on tight.  And then: crunch.  Sunrise at 8:14 am, Sunset at 4:00pm, with 7h 45m 57s (don’t forget the seconds!) of sun in the middle.

This morning I’ve made what I’m calling ‘pre-emptive sunshine muffins’.  Cranberry and orange, little globes of sunshiny yum to tide us through the looming dark.

Holding on tight …

11 Responses to “Hello, sunshine”

  1. Sarah Scott December 17, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Isn’t it wild–this whole getting dark at 4pm thing? I think it has made us all go into a bit of hibernation mode! Love the sunshiney recipe–we need it! xoxo

    • Monique December 18, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      I did not expect the shorter days to affect me quite so much. Vitamin D, where are you? 😉

  2. Zazzy December 17, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I interviewed for a job in Alaska once. In retrospect, I’m glad I wasn’t offered the job. Even a series of gray days gets pretty old, pretty fast and I am tired of it being dark by around 5:00.

    But just remember, in just a couple more days the days will start to get longer again. It’s what I live for all December.

    Plus, those muffins sound great!

    • Monique December 18, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

      We visited Alaska in the middle of summer once, it was sunny 23 hours a day — that was crazy, too. I’ll need to remind myself to look back at these posts when it’s summertime and daylight until 10pm here in the UK.

  3. Sarah December 18, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    As it gets progressively darker I find it hard to NOT hibernate earlier and earlier. Then I remember that it IS technically time to hibernate (a bit), and I give in (a bit). Then I find I’m rested and don’t need to go to bed at 5pm. And I keep telling myself that once I have this figured out and it’s “normal” it’ll be time to pack up and leave. WAH!

    • Monique December 18, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      I like the idea of giving oneself permission to give in to the natural urge to hibernate … at least a bit. Do you have your fireplace crackling?

      • Sarah December 19, 2011 at 8:44 am #

        The one in our TV room or “family room” if you like is gas, so YES! It’s so easy! Turn a knob, push a button, and enjoy! How about you? Do you have a fire going? I hope so!

      • Monique December 20, 2011 at 10:51 am #

        We have a gas fireplace but I’m afraid it hasn’t been cleaned since the house was built, so I don’t want to turn it on. Ka-BOOM. Makes me sad to see it sitting there, unlit. =(

      • Sarah December 22, 2011 at 2:00 am #

        You have to clean those things? Oops and oh well! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twinkle twinkle « Crumpets in Camelot - January 4, 2012

    […] kids’ first day back to school after their luxuriously long vacation.  We made it past the solstice.  Our heads exploded with happiness to have family visiting, and then our heads imploded with […]

  2. Sol Invictus « Crumpets in Camelot - March 26, 2012

    […] in the days of darkness, I woke up in the dark, and drove the kids to school in the dark, and went just little bit mad in […]

Leave a Reply

