Day out: Castell Caerdydd/Cardiff Castle

11 Dec

First of all, let me say I am in love with this dragon

As I look around my glassed conservatory, dark at 3pm and covered in rain, I think to myself: “A six foot bright red dragon would totally cheer this place up.”  So tempting.

Also, whoever did the graphic design work for the castle is a genius and I want them to decorate my house.

Again, wondering if the landlord would be cool with me having this etched on the conservatory windows.

Cardiff Castle promises 2,000 years of history, and it delivers. The complex is huge and incredibly well preserved

View from the battlements, over the castle green.  Just off to the left out of frame? A TREBUCHET!

We went up to the very very top of the Norman Keep

To the very depths of the war time air raid tunnels

I love you too, Doctor Carrot.  May I have some cake?

The tunnels were fascinating.  We walked in the darkly lit underground to the recorded sounds of bombing, WWII radio broadcasts, and past rows upon rows of benches and bunk beds.  Later, in the shop, we were told that the castle shelter was considered the ‘posh’ shelter, and that wardens roamed the corridors with whistles, to call out anyone who was having a little too much fun in the dark corners.   Tunnel parties?  Oh, England!

The luxurious castle is a fantasy world

all dolled up for the holidays

with a fascinating ‘animal trail’ game for the kids to play

Three hours wandering the castle grounds, plus a welcome tea-break in the castle cafe, and we still didn’t see everything.  In June the castle hosts a jousting tourney.  See you there?

Lioness on the Wall of Animals.  Oh, landlord?  What’s your pov on large stone animals in the driveway?

7 Responses to “Day out: Castell Caerdydd/Cardiff Castle”

  1. Zazamataz December 11, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    I love the red dragon and the big stone animals – don’t they say it’s better to ask forgiveness than to beg permission?

    The castle is lovely! This is why I really want to visit Great Britain and Europe and other places that have such a long history. Does it feel different? I mean, is there a sense of time in such a place?

    • Monique December 11, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      “Just do it” is totally my motto … that dragon may be moving in. As for the sense of time … hm. We have a lot of time in America, too — I’m thinking of standing in Mesa Verde and the sense of incredible ancientness and vastness of time I felt there — or looking at the Grand Canyon and thinking of the time it took to etch that into the earth, drop by drop by drop. The sense of a place being continually occupied, continually tended and shaped to human habitation, that is different here. It feels like the earth is less wild here — well, this part of England, anyway. I’m poetic tonight. =)

  2. Venus December 13, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Oh, this makes me wish I’d been able to spend more time in Wales when I visited long long ago. I’ve got Welsh grandparents on both sides of my family (the other parts are Mexican and anglo mutt… the Welsh largely won out in my chromosome contest). I adore listening to my Nana talk about her childhood with a coal mining father, and rationing during the war. I’ll have to call Nana tonight – thanks for making me think of her! And thanks for the lovely photos, you’re so talented!

    • Monique December 14, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

      Aw, sweet! Hi to your Nana!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day out IOW: Carisbrooke Castle « Crumpets in Camelot - June 28, 2012

    […] far, my favorite castle visit has to be Cardiff Castle in Wales.  But give me a bit of sunshine and some more time to look around, and Carisbrooke makes […]

  2. Cotswold Winter « Crumpets in Camelot - December 14, 2012

    […] we find the stamina for a longer day out, a day trip to Cardiff Castle or Warwick Castle is sure to please.  Or someplace new:  Longleat Safari […]

  3. Day out: Snowshill Manor Apple Festival | Crumpets in Camelot - March 25, 2013

    […] clock would look well in my backyard.  Next to that Welsh dragon, I […]

Leave a Reply

