Swirls or sprinkles?

5 Dec

Some days, everyone you see asks “And how are you doing?” in a concerned voice.  Some days, you manage to clog your kitchen sink and your toilet in the space of an hour.  Some days the wind blows right through your bones and the sky turns dark at 4pm.

In other words, some days call for cupcakes.

I used the same basic recipe as for the Pudsey’s American Cousin Cupcakes from a couple of weeks ago.  Running low on butter (gasp!) I substituted oil, knowing the flavor would change but  — how can anything that starts like this be less than yum?

The rest of the recipe went along as usual, and produced these happy little flowers:

Why do I take such close up photos of baked goods?  Because I want to walk on the surface of a cupcake, like Neil Armstrong on the moon.

Today, being the kind of day it was, called for some extra boom-boom-pow in the decoration department.  That meant chocolate icing:

I know giant choc-swirls are not to everyone’s taste, but to me they look like giant, friendly chocolate kisses.  And who couldn’t use a friendly chocolate kiss?  Muah.

But my kids have their own favorites as well, and I aim to please:

That’s right, sprinkles!  And yes, those are purple and clear sugar crystals on chocolate swirls on vanilla cakes — you got a problem with that?  Of course not.  It’s for the children.

The kids fell asleep to the scent of vanilla and chocolate and I’ll let them have cupcakes for breakfast.  And how are you doing today?  Delicious.

16 Responses to “Swirls or sprinkles?”

  1. Zazzy December 6, 2011 at 4:43 am #

    I like your swirls – they go all the way to the edge. I object to the trend that puts a big splot of frosting right in the middle of the cupcake and leaves the edges naked. That said, mmmm cupcakes.

    • Monique December 6, 2011 at 11:42 am #

      Is that a trend? That’s terrible. And affront to both cupcakes and icing. Bleh. I like a cupcake with icing, and maybe icing on that icing, with decorations, and another cupcake on top. None of this spot in the middle business.

  2. IamSimplyTia December 6, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I wanna a cupcake now! These look so pweety!

    • Monique December 6, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Thanks Tia! (Oooo, I just checked out your Bacon, Sausage, Ham and Cheddar Frittata recipe … nomnomnom)

  3. Sarah December 6, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    I should be making your pumpkin muffins and banana bread and pumpkin pie right now. Instead I sit shivering with my computer.

    • Monique December 6, 2011 at 11:37 am #

      Why are you shivering? Cold in your house? Hot tea, stat!

      • Sarah December 6, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

        Got up and made the pies. Had leftover custard, which I baked in a small bowl by itself, so guess who just had some yummy pumpkin custard with squirty cream? It was very cold in our house today. I’m ready for some snow, how about you?

      • Sarah December 7, 2011 at 7:01 am #

        I’m sorry – how rude of me – I didn’t even comment on the cupcakes, did I? Well, that’s because I was ignoring them, so as to avoid a ridiculous last minute road trip to HAVE ONE. lol! They look amazing! Promise if I get to see you in England you’ll show me how to do the swirl?

    • Monique December 7, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

      The swirl is so simple, it’s just a matter of tools. This works great: http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?sku=415-825 Although for these, I just used the pre-made already-bagged snip&swirl icing from Renshaw: http://mybakes.co.uk/renshaw-products/snip-and-swirl/chocolate-snip-and-swirl.aspx

      I’d like to pretend I have some special secret, but — lazy, remember? 😉

  4. greatscott3 December 8, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Can you move in to my neighborhood? And make these delicious treats for my breakfast? Pretty please? With sprinkles or swirls on top?? Looks delicious!!

    • Monique December 9, 2011 at 11:57 am #

      =) Cupcakes for breakfast are a gift for the soul … lol

  5. Louise December 26, 2011 at 4:49 am #

    “Why do I take such close up photos of baked goods? Because I want to walk on the surface of a cupcake, like Neil Armstrong on the moon.” Ha ha, love this! Great pics & great writing as always! Thanks.

    • Monique December 27, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      I do. I do want to walk on cupcakes. I’m like Willy Wonka, but with baked goods. 😛

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Short and sweet « Crumpets in Camelot - February 19, 2012

    […] But, succumbing to child-led begging, we did make some cupcakes this weekend, using our old standby recipe (which also works just fine when modified). […]

  2. Bolognese, Garlic Farm Style « Crumpets in Camelot - July 3, 2012

    […] I want a pillow made of muffin to place on my bed made of cake and fall asleep under a blanket of frosting.  I take a photo of a gorgeous roasted chicken and it looks like a CSI photo of a serial […]

  3. And now for something completely different | Crumpets in Camelot - November 26, 2013

    […] my local affiliate is starting to feel like a home away from home.  And you know what I do when I like something.  I get in really close.  Closer.  Now look upside down at what you usually look at straight on. […]

Leave a Reply

