Apple a la maison

28 Nov

Apple-something a la maison … is it a pie?  a tart?  No idea, but it’s mine and I made it at home so … a la maison.

We’re receiving lovely local apples in our weekly box scheme deliveries.  With an excess of apples I decided to make a pie sort of thing.  Since I’m terribly lazy, I used a pre-made shortcrust dough that needed only to be rolled out, and instead of following a recipe, threw things together by whim.

First, slice your apples and saute them with butter, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger.  Or whatever spices you like.  Just follow your nose…

When I do this again, I’ll use more apples, and probably will peel them first.  Although I like the peels and the color and texture contrast they bring. (Not to mention peels-on is more nutritious.  I’m all about nutrition.  Sure I am.)

Prep the crust in a pie pan with some more sprinkled sugar and whatever spices you like … I added more cinnamon.

Next time I’ll roll the crust out thinner, and pre-bake it briefly with a bit of butter before adding the apples. Maybe sift on the spice to make it more pretty.

Youngest wanted some kind of decoration on top, and this is what we came up with:

Don’t know what we were going for, maybe a star?  Next time I’ll try rolling out the extra dough and cutting out some shapes to lay on top. Like this, but less fancy.  I am lazy, after all.

Bake it up at 350F for 30 minutes or so, keeping an eye on it and adding a bit of egg wash for color:

Maybe put some more sugar in with that egg wash for extra crunch and sweetness on the top.

And serve it up with clotted cream … or ice cream … or plain …

And there you go!  Not perfect, not fancy, but smelled great, tasted pretty good, and was fun to do.  It’s even better the next day as breakfast.  Happy baking!

2 Responses to “Apple a la maison”

  1. Sarah November 30, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    I feel I must confess I would have known that was clotted cream in the photo even if you hadn’t mentioned it (the crust on the bottom right of the dollop gives it away). You do know in the US clotted cream would be classified as butter, right? Why was this not brought over with the colonists? WHY? What will I do when we go back?? WAHHHHH!

    • Monique November 30, 2011 at 11:07 am #

      Gah, don’t even mention it! I think there is some kind of bizarre canned or jarred clotted cream I’ve seen stateside. Surely we can learn to make our own. Start a clotted cream revolution.

Leave a Reply

