Heart of darkness

24 Nov

Oh maybe, if you don’t quite get me yet, maybe it seems like an exaggeration, a bit overblown, to compare the decaying state of my kitchen to a descent into brutality, madness, inhumanity, cannibalism, and horror.

Foolish mortal.  It is exactly the same.

You had a peek at the kitchen when we moved in.

In what I will now consider my kitchen’s golden age,  it looked like this

I can hear angels singing

When all the boxes were delivered, it looked like this

You don’t scare me.  I am an individual of idealism and hope.  I will apply myself to you and make you better.

Yesterday morning it looked like this

I don’t understand how we got here or what I’m doing in this mess.  But surely, surely it will get better.  I’ll do what I must do, no matter how awful, to redeem this.

This morning it looked like this

The horror … the horror …

I just can’t think straight when the kitchen is a mess.  All those dishes and inexplicable piles of chaos seem to hook into my brain and throw my whole head off balance.  That very last box in the middle?  It’s labeled “Junk“.

INSANITY!

PS – You are not at all concerned that my spice drawer looks like this, are you?

It’s okay, right?  It’s not like I put the heads of my enemies on spikes.  Um, just don’t touch anything, mm-hmm?  Or I might eat your face.

7 Responses to “Heart of darkness”

  1. Ayris November 24, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Hmm.. spices in a drawer.. what a concept! Maybe I could see them all then..

    • Monique November 25, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Here’s hoping. This is a new arrangement for me, but I feel unnaturally attached to the new layout.

  2. Zazzy November 24, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    You look like you’re almost there! My spice cupboard is slightly more insane. I cannot seem to stop buying and trying new spices and new blends. Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Sarah November 25, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    I. Feel. Your. Pain.

    also…..

    You. Are. Not. Alone.

    Too many full stops?

    • Monique November 26, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      When encouragement is the topic, every. bit. is. appreciated. =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stack ‘em high « Crumpets in Camelot - January 29, 2012

    […] to unpacking the rest of our boxes.  I’ve talked about this before.  And before.  And before.  If I don’t unpack all these boxes soon, I’ll be talking about it forever.  […]

  2. Black Friday « Crumpets in Camelot - November 23, 2012

    […] least we are not newly in our house and surrounded by yet-to-be-unpacked boxes, this year.  And finding a turkey was easy — if expensive — at our new Whole […]

Leave a Reply

