First World Problems

23 Nov

First, read this post.

I’ve been thinking about this idea of problems-that-are-not-problems.  This morning as I was walking in the park and feeling particularly grumpy from unpacking all night and sleeping on boxes, I remembered the post above and played a little game to myself, fitting my ‘problems’ in to the first-world meme as captions to the photo below, and then laughing at myself for being an idiot.  And now I feel much better.

PS, I totally look like that.  Um, yeah.

I didn’t get to go to the castle this weekend, because I was busy setting up my new furniture.

I unpacked boxes for hours but I still have more stuff.

I can’t put away all my clothes, because my boxes of shoes are in the way.

The movers put the golf clubs in the wrong closet and now I can’t find them all.

I can’t make coffee, because all the china and stemware is blocking my Tassimo.

I had to take the kids to school in a taxi because my minivan is in the shop.

My Starbucks card got stuck in the machine and I had to downsize to a Grande because I didn’t have enough cash for a Venti.

I can’t decide on duck or pheasant for Thanksgiving.

The conservatory is so sunny there’s a glare on my laptop.

***

OK, yeah, that feels better.   All I need now is a little Beyonce the Metal Chicken and my attitude adjustment will be complete.

 

7 Responses to “First World Problems”

  1. Jeanne November 23, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    It sounds like you have lots to be thankful for–and all in the way!

  2. Sarah Scott November 23, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Oh I laughed so hard at this post! Totally awesome–love putting it all in perspective. And…the chicken???!!! How did you hear about the chicken??? I first “met” Beyonce a year ago I think, and I seriously almost peed my pants reading about her. TOO funny! Thanks for letting me read that all over again–it’s still just as funny! xoxo

    • greatscott3 November 23, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      oh dear–just looked at the post date on Beyone and it was July. concept of time really is not my strong point these days… 🙂

    • Monique November 23, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      The Bloggess is … some kind of demi god, maybe? Something awesome. http://thebloggess.com/2009/10/sue-me-im-awesome/

      • Melissa November 25, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

        Oh Beyonce… I actually saw a freecycle post, wanted: metal chicken for inside joke. Love your posts Monique! Thanks for the laughs and perspective!

      • Monique November 26, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

        I love that! Wonder if Beyonce would go over well with the neighbors?

Leave a Reply

