Veg! Veg! Veg!

19 Nov

Another beautiful day (how is this possible?  How is it grim one moment and heavenly the next?) and another gorgeous delivery of fruit and veg from our box scheme agents.

I’m not sure I’ve figured out the exactly-right size of veg box we need, and I’m wondering if we should find a salad box delivery scheme as well.  However, I’ve been amazed by my children’s capacity for eating potatoes, and we had only a small bit of leftover from last week’s box.  What to do with all the produce?  Today I’m making a Winter Vegetable Hot Pot.

With a nod to my carnivorous progeny, I’m adding thin slices of beef, but that’s about it.  Here’s hoping for something delicious …

6 Responses to “Veg! Veg! Veg!”

  1. greatscott3 November 20, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    A rep from Able and Co stopped by our house yesterday. I had been thinking of getting a veg box for a while—and was reminded of it in your other post–so I might give it a try. Good to hear that you ended up using it all and that it seems to be a hit with the family!

  2. Venus November 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    I am VERY envious of the boxes you get. There are some produce boxes here near us, but they don’t look nearly as cool as yours. Then again, I’d have to start liking greens more than I do at the moment. Hubs is all over them, but I’m not a huge fan of the bitter, or the texture once they’re cooked. Ah well.

    • Monique November 21, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

      We found that the romaine lettuce we get (in the stores) is more bitter than we’re used to back home, which was really weird, but there’s a ‘dolce verde’ romaine that is very sweet — or do you mean all veg taste bitter to you? (!!) That’s actually a thing, isn’t it, a genetic variation? http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2006/09/060918165721.htm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feed me, Seymore « Crumpets in Camelot - November 25, 2011

    […] morning when I opened my box of veg I found this staring at […]

  2. Boxing Day « Crumpets in Camelot - December 26, 2011

    […] peasant or not.  Here’s a turnip soup recipe I made it in bulk using veg from our box scheme and I think I’ll toss in some leftover ham or turkey from yesterday and a few reheated rolls […]

Leave a Reply

