Fun with words

2 Nov

One of my favorite posts from She’s Not From Yorkshire is this handy Anglo-EU Translation Guide.

Those cultural nuances can really catch one unawares.  However, my translation problems tend to be even more basic.  To help you learn from my mistakes, I present: The Pasty.

This is a pasty:
It’s a pie filled with meat.  It’s delicious.  Its traditional home is in Cornwall.

It is not:
… a pastry.

It is not
… a  patsy.

It is not
…  Patsy, no matter how fabulous.

It is not
… pasty.

And it is not
… pasties

Don’t be like me: don’t walk in to a lovely Pasty Shop and ask for “Pasties, I mean not pasties-pasties, but pastries, I mean, a pastry, a patsy, um, one of those things?”

(And you really, really, truly, honestly, never, ever, want to confuse anything with pasty butt.  This is a real thing, but I refuse to google search a photo for it.  If you dare you can become informed.)

2 Responses to “Fun with words”

  1. Louise November 4, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    You found my blog through NaBloPoMo & now I’ve come to yours! I’m really enjoying it, and especially this post. I live in the states, but I’ve been sharing “flats” here with Brits for 2 years now & we still crack up over things like this. Keep up the good work!

    • Monique November 4, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      Oh that language that divides and unites us! Glad to see you — NaBloPoMo is great fun!

Leave a Reply

