Endless summer

3 Oct


In short, there’s simply not
A more congenial spot
For happily-ever-aftering than here
In Camelot.

I’m starting to feel a little concerned about how perfect everything has been since we left for Camelot.  Not just small pieces of good fortune to be treasured, but things like the climate of the entire country changing so we are fortuitously greeted with sunshine and gorgeous summer weather.  Four bedroom houses for us to rent serendipitously available within the perfect time frame.   Amazing meals out with (mostly) well-behaved children.  Running in to a friend from home, here, today, at lunch.

Even more unexpected is how much I love the streets and scenes of our new home.  Walking down a bumpy sidewalk with a huge tree bursting out at the corner, fall leaves trailing our steps, passing other families walking with smiling children, or turning down an empty walk and seeing a beautiful bit of architecture framed just so in my vision — I realize that, somehow, so far from home, I feel the presence of home and an unlooked-for peace.

I don’t know how to throw away our kitchen trash or where to buy a hair dryer, and I can only buy things with pound notes because the coins freak me out, but looking ahead to when husband and children are all deep into their work and school lives and it is time for me to find my own way here in Cheltenham, I think I’m going to be okay.  I think … I think there is a little bit of Camelot for me here.

2 Responses to “Endless summer”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Solstice summer « Crumpets in Camelot - June 21, 2012

    […] If you’ve been following along, you’ve seen my love-hate-fear-despair relationship with the sun here in England.  The days of darkness haunt me.  When we first arrived here in Camelot, the sun was stunning, the air was warm and dry, the trees waved gently overhead — it was gorgeous and summer was going to be endless. […]

  2. On the right foot | Crumpets in Camelot - September 9, 2013

    […] me to you, if you are planning to move to England or to live here temporarily: it’s not all crumpets and jam.  Just try to embrace it.  Even when it’s freezing and dark.  I’m sure you’ll […]

Leave a Reply

